Thank you, Tess!

28 Aug
9446633020_acf704f946_n

Tess at an outreach event

Tess Stansbury came to EWI as our NonProfit Management Intern this past summer. Not only was she a delightful person to be around, she was a star in everything she did – a quick learner, took initiative, and highly detailed and organized. She came to EWI with an interest to learn more about non-profits, how they work, and to get behind the scenes. It was actually after reading the book Half the Sky by Nicholas Kristof and Sheryl WuDunn, that sparked Tess’s interest in women’s empowerment and the crucial part women play in the progress of the world. She felt by being an intern at EWI she would see the reality of that come into play. And she did. Tess made a tremendous impact while she was here, in so many tangible and intangible ways. She returns to West Virginia University to finish her degree in International Development and Latin American Studies, to continue to learn how to change the world.

We asked her to write something about her story and what her internship experience was like at EWI.

“I purposefully turned down my usual summer job last spring to dedicate this summer before my senior year of undergrad to prepare for a career. I wanted to find an internship that had something to do with what I was studying, International Development. Empowered Women International popped up in my Google search in late May, when I was scrambling to find the right place to work this summer. And it was fate.

EWI has been an absolute perfect fit. I have gained so much experience, met so many talented and strong individuals that invigorate me to accomplish my goals in life. EWI gave me a chance to learn and grow as a person while I helped the organization achieve its goals.

I was fortunate to work directly with EWI founder Marga Fripp and see the passion she has for what she does. She instilled in me the knowledge of what ‘drive’ is and how essential it is to a grassroots organization. I was able to learn the ins and outs of what it takes to manage and develop a non-profit, and why it takes special individuals to do so. It is hard, dedicated work, to put it simply.

9072504759_2b1cde243a

Tess with EWI staff and board

I would like to work in the non-profit sector after I graduate and this internship has given me the tools to do so. I was lucky to work with caring and intelligent people that help make Empowered Women International what it is, and believe in its mission to give immigrant, refugee, and low-income women the opportunity to learn how to launch their own business and become self-sufficient. I have to thank Alexia and Mary for being great role models in the office, helping me complete tasks, answering my questions, and having such positive and loving attitudes.

I will certainly be back to volunteer when I can and hope I have made a small impact on such an important organization. The passion of EWI’s graduates, staff, and volunteers has no end and I expect only great things in the near future as it continues to empower women and change lives.”

All the Best!

–Tess

Want to learn the ins-and-outs of a non-profit organization? EWI’s intern positions are all hands-on opportunities for someone who is a self-starter, willing to learn fast, eager to give back and able to commit and get things done. We need you! Check out our listings on Idealist for Non-Profit Management, Program Associate, and Marketing & Communications intern positions. 

Leave a Reply

