Aside

Mariana Alvarado: My experience as a Graphic Designer Volunteer at EWI

27 Feb
8251891603_29f3bb5029_z

Here with Mary, Alexandra, Marga, Perry, and one of the interns.

Mariana Alvarado: My experience as a Graphic Designer Volunteer at EWI

When I decided to go back to the work force after being a stay at home mom for 6 years, my strategy was to go back to school and update my design knowledge and technical skills. I gained a lot more than that: self confidence.

Ian y yo

My son Ian Emiliano is going to turn 8 in April.

After finishing a certificate program in Web Design in The Corcoran College of Art and Design in DC I felt prepared, but then realized that I needed to prove that I can be a valuable asset to any company, and decided to volunteer.

I found EWI by coincidence, or destiny. I come from an artisan family. My  father learned a solder technique from an Hungarian artist when he was 17 years old and worked for him making sculpture and jewelry for a couple of years before starting his own business. I have respect for artisans and appreciation for their work. I understand the challenges that immigrant woman, like myself, have to face in order to succeed in this country. I feel I found the right place for me to develop more skills and feel productive.

EWI_grad

2012 Fall Graduation

I visited an ETS class in November and was pleasantly surprised by the energy of the ladies and advisors. Seeing the graduates so proud of themselves on their big graduation day was an inspiring experience for me.

I think empowering women to reach their full potential is a noble cause. I found working with Marga’s team of women very inspiring and empowering!

Leave a Reply

