Why we LOVE Alexandria!

20 Jul

From the lovely waterfront, historic buildings, and endless boutiques, restaurants, and small businesses- there’s a LOT to love about Old Town Alexandria!

The very first time I ever visited Old Town was a few yearsago with close friends of mine when we visited a small café for brunch onEaster. In February I began interning with EWI and finally came back to OldTown for the first time since my Easter brunch! I was quickly reminded why Ifell in love with everything about it a few years ago.

Everyday I enjoy walking along the brick sidewalks and admiring the colorful and historic townhouses that line the streets. I love the hustle and bustle of King Street as I watch shoppers, tourists, and people on their way to work each day.

Did someone mention ice cream?

More recently I found myself sitting on the pier at the waterfront with some of my very best friends. We dreamt about someday owningour own boats and relaxing on the water on warm summer evenings. I admired the grand building front of the Torpedo Factory as my friends chatted away.

For the past 6 months I’ve been working in Old Town I’ve tried my best to make sure I visit new stores, try new restaurants, and walk onas many new streets as I can find! So far, here are a few of my favorite places and things to do in Old Town:

– Lunch from Sam Phao Thai: Not only is the staff extremely welcoming and kind, the food is AMAZING! Sam Phao has been a generous supporter of EWI (donating to our Spring2Action campaign in May 2012) and we’ve even held meetings here over lunch! My favorite dish to order is the Pad Thai with chicken…yum! (www.samphaothaicuisine.com/)

Bittersweet Café: This is another wonderful supporter of EWI (also contributed to Spring2Action). This was the first restaurant I ate at upon my return to Old Town in February. Shannon and Erin took the new Spring interns here for a wonderful lunch and we were even given some free mini-cupcakes to     celebrate our first day on the job! My favorite menu item: Turkey BLT (no T) with avocado. (www.bittersweetcatering.com/)

Pretty People: This is absolutely adorable vintage store located off of King Street. I instantly fell in love with this store as soon as I walked through the door. The music, atmosphere, and wide range of vintage clothing, jewelry, and bags was right up my alley! (www.prettypeoplevintage.com/)

Perri and Delilah (friend and EWI supporter) pose by the waterfront

– Waterfront: My favorite place to relax is on the pier at the waterfront. I enjoy sitting and watching the boats pass back and forth in front of the pier and looking out at the river. Not to mention- tons of great ice-cream shops and restaurants are close by! A great place to walk around and enjoy the summer evenings!

I’ve only been here for a short amount of time and there are many more places I have my eyes set on to visit! The huge art scene offers plenty of galleries that are calling my name- not to mention all of the boutiques, vintage, and antique stores I have yet to wander! The excitement, creativity, and good food of Old Town keep me energized and entertained and I couldn’t ask to work in a more wonderful city.

-Perri
Outreach Coordinator, AmeriCorps VISTA

Leave a Reply

