Graduate Profile: Carla Weeks

13 Dec

Carla Weeks originally from the UK, is the founder and creator of Piccadilly Weeks. A line of products made from vintage and repurposed materials. Each piece carries its own story and inspires those that hold them to imagine the origin of its components, and the history of the fabrics. Carla scours thrift stores, estate sales and antique shops to find high quality materials with unique characteristics. She uses anything from tweed jackets and cotton shirts, to pillowcases and tablecloths.

Clutches by Carla Weeks

I relish the idea of saving these forgotten artifacts from their thrift store doom and transforming them into something truly special. I am a strong believer in functional design. I stay true to classic silhouettes to allow each piece to reflect the personality of its texture and print, while retaining structure and purpose.

Carla's vision board

My products are created to inspire people to think about the potential of discarded everyday materials.

Purse made from a Repurposed Knit Blanket

My line of handmade accessories focuses on the reuse of old materials and their transformation into something truly special and unique. Each item carries it’s own story on a handmade tag explaining the origin of it’s materials, allowing the owner to imagine for themselves the stories behind it.

My guiding principles are to stay true to handmade products of the highest quality, stay loyal to thrifted and locally sourced materials, and to a tell story with each item.

Carla came to EWI’s Entrepreneur Training for Success program because she found herself at a point were she needed help moving forward. While she had a great product, packaging, and had already begun to sell on her own and through a boutique, she was unsure of how to grow her business beyond a hobby.

Carla pitching her buisness to panel of judges.

EWI helped me solidify my focus, identify my target audience and my niche. Through the training I have begun to create a website for my company, a brand, and marketing materials. I have also been able to come up with a pricing system that I am comfortable with, and create budget projections and income statements. I even have a solid grasp on the legalities that surround setting up a new business and know which business structure is best suited to my company.

I have solidified the focus of my business idea, identified my target audience, and discovered my niche. I have begun to create a website for my company and created brand appropriate marketing materials such as business cards. I have been able to come up with a pricing system that I am comfortable with, and create budget projections and income statements. I now have a solid grasp on the legalities that surround setting up a new business and know which business structure is best suited to my company.

I’ve learned that every aspect of starting a business must grow simultaneously- every part of the process is connected. You can’t have a successful brand without strong marketing techniques, and you can’t expect your business to grow financially if you don’t work your priorities into an organizational system that works for you. Without the help that EWI provides, it would be virtually impossible to have access to all these aspects of business at the same time.

RSVP for the graduation gala, Women with Wings.

Leave a Reply

