Member Spotlight: Katherine Foley, Summer Multi-Cultural Arts Intern

23 Aug

Katherine Foley just recently completed her summer Multi-Cultural Arts internship with Empowered Women International.  During her time with EWI Katherine became deeply involved in the preparation and execution of the We the People one day multi-cultural event.  She spearheaded and implemented the catering of the event as well as helped in general fascilitaion and planning.

Katherine crafting at the summer staff retreat

Katherine participated in many EWI arts markets including the EWI donors reception, the EWI booth at the annual AAUW convention, the EWI summer staff retreat, several home parties and the Entrepreneur Training for Success Spring 2011 graduation.  Katherine used her photography skills to enhance EWI’s online store and photographed artist’s work to be sold online.

Katherine stated “My internship with Empowered Women International was an amazing time filled with inspirational learning experiences.  I entered my internship wanting to discover how a small non-profit operates, and I learned far more than I could have ever expected. Not only did I learn about the workings of fundraising, running a store, marketing products, and outreach, but I also met and interacted with the wonderful artists who come to EWI.

Katherine modeling Velma Crawford's apron at a recent home party

I think it is rare to find an organization that works with its members on such a personal and direct level as EWI does, and I found that this kind of relationship strengthened the trust, communication, and effectiveness of EWI’s mission. I now cannot imagine working for a company or business that does not directly interact with the people it serves.

She continued, “I am excited about the future of Empowered Women International, and I want to see the business training program grow and expand to other areas of the country and world. I look forward to seeing EWI campus clubs on colleges where young people can spread the word and generate support for the organization and artists.  I will certainly bring the mission and structure of EWI back to my college and community, and as I continue in my education and career I know I will remain dedicated to women’s independence and empowerment. ”

Katherine was excited to intern with EWI, as her experience combined her passions for art, business, and female empowerment. A native of New Jersey, she is entering her junior year at Bowdoin College. She is a Psychology and Gender & Women’s Studies major. At school, Katherine mentors at-risk young girls and has been trained to be an advocate and ally for survivors of sexual assault.

EWI would like to thank Katherine for all of her hard work, dedication, and initiative during her summer internship.  We wish Katherine much success in all of her future endeavors, and in particular during her upcoming fall semester studying in Denmark!

 

One Response to “Member Spotlight: Katherine Foley, Summer Multi-Cultural Arts Intern”

  1. Katherine August 28, 2011 at 7:06 pm #

    Thanks EWI! Keep up your wonderful work!
    Love,
    Katherine

Leave a Reply

